Motor Vehicle

New Vehicle/ Out of State Transfers

 

Missouri Resident Titling Requirements

You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and pay sales tax on your newly purchased vehicle. If you do not title the vehicle within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $200. 

To title a motor vehicle in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following: 

  1. The Certificate of Title, properly signed over to you (see instructions), or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO)
  2. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108)
  3. An identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection, if ownership of the motor vehicle was transferred to you on a title issued by another state or country. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A current safety inspection will satisfy this requirement; 
  4. An Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019), if applicable; and
  5. A notarized Lien Release (Form 4809), if applicable;
  6. Additional documentation may be requested at the time of titling.

You will pay:

  • State tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes you will pay;
  • The $11 title fee (includes the $2.50 processing fee).

To title and register (obtain license plates for) a newly purchased motor vehicle, please refer to the Buying a Vehiclepage of our website.

New Resident Titling & Registration Requirements

You have 30 days from the date of becoming a Missouri resident to title your vehicle. 

To obtain a Missouri title and registration (license plates) on a motor vehicle currently titled in another state, you must submit the following:

  1. An ownership document such as:
    • Title from the previous state or country where the vehicle was titled; or
    • Registration Certificate or proof of ownership in accordance with the laws of the previous state or country, if there is an active lien on the vehicle and the lienholder currently holds the out-of-state title;
      NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact a license office for additional information and assistance. 
      NOTE: If there is a lien on the vehicle, you should obtain the title from the lienholder to submit with your application. The lien will remain in force. When the Missouri title is issued, the lien will appear on the face of the title. Missouri titles are mailed to the vehicle owner. If you are unable to obtain the title, please contact us at (573) 526-3669 or mvbmail@dor.mo.gov.
  2. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108);
  3. Additional documentation may be requested at the time of titling; 
  4. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility;
  5. Statement of non-assessment from your county (or City of St. Louis) assessor's office showing you do not owe personal property taxes in the county (or City of St. Louis). Visit the State Tax Commission for a list of assessors;
  6. *A Missouri safety inspection not more than 60 days old; 
  7. Identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection. All motor vehicles previously titled in another state or country must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification number and odometer reading of the vehicle. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A safety inspection will satisfy this requirement; and 
  8. *An emissions inspection not more than 60 days old, if you reside in St. Louis City or the following counties: Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, or St. Louis, if applicable.

* If there is no change in vehicle ownership, even model year vehicles must be safety and emissions inspected (unless exempt) in even calendar years, and odd model year vehicles must be inspected (unless exempt) in odd calendar years.

Note: Effective January 1, 2010, motor vehicles are exempt from the safety inspection requirement for the first five years following the model year of manufacture. This is true regardless of whether or not a change of ownership occurs during this time frame. Example: a 2016 vehicle will be exempt from the safety inspection in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021.

You will pay:

  • State tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes you will pay;
    NOTE: If the vehicle has been owned and operated in another state for at least 90 days prior to titling and registering in Missouri, no sales tax is due. Owners who have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days and paid sales tax to another state, less than the amount of Missouri State and local taxes, will be required to show proof of payment of those taxes and also pay the difference of the two amounts. 
  • The $11 title fee (includes the $2.50 processing fee); and
  • Registration (license plate) and processing fees, based on either taxable horsepower or vehicle weight.

Military Personnel Stationed Out of State Titling and Registration Requirements

To obtain a Missouri title and registration (license plates) on a motor vehicle, you must submit the following: 

  1. The Certificate of Title, properly signed over to you, a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO) or proof of ownership in accordance with the laws of the other state or country; 
    NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact a license office for additional information and assistance.
    NOTE: If there is a lien on the vehicle, you should obtain the title from the lienholder to submit with your application. The lien will remain in force. When the Missouri title is issued, the lien will appear on the face of the title. Missouri titles are mailed to the vehicle owner. If you are unable to obtain the title, please contact us at (573) 526-3669 or mvbmail@dor.mo.gov
  2. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108)
  3. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility;
  4. Either a statement of non-assessment from your Missouri county (or City of St. Louis) collector's office showing you do not owe property taxes or, if your home of record is not Missouri, a Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) to verify military status and state of residency. Two year registrations require statements from the prior two years. Visit the State Tax Commission for a list of assessors
    NOTE: If the LES shows Missouri as the state of residency, you will need to show personal property tax receipt or statement of non-assessment. 
  5. Identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection. All motor vehicles previously titled in another state or country must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification number and odometer reading of the vehicle. A signed statement from a commissioned officer of the United States Armed Forces verifying the vehicle's identification number and odometer reading may be submitted; and
  6. General Affidavit (Form 768) stating the vehicle has been out of state for more than 60 days.
    NOTE: Upon returning to Missouri the vehicle must be safety inspected within 10 days. The vehicle must also be emissions inspected within 10 days, if applicable.

You will pay:

  • State tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes and fees you will pay; 
    NOTE: If the vehicle has been owned and operated in another state for at least 90 days prior to titling and registering in Missouri, no sales tax is due. Owners who have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days and paid sales tax to another state, less than the amount of Missouri State and local taxes, will be required to show proof of payment of those taxes and also pay the difference of the two amounts. 
  • The $11 title fee (includes the $2.50 processing fee); and
  • Registration (license plate) and processing fees, based on either taxable horsepower or vehicle weight.

PURCHASE FROM A DEALERSHIP

For all new/used vehicle title and registrations, you will need-

1. Vehicle Title, or Manufactures Statement of Origin.

2. Bill of Sale, or Certified Title application from dealer.

3. Proof of current Insurance.

4. If your vehicle is 6 years old or older, a Missouri Safety Inspection is required. If your vehicle is less than 5 years old and you have an Out of State title from the dealer, an ID/OD is required.

5. A Personal Property Tax Receipt for the previous year, unless transferring plates where no time is being added, Or a Personal Property Tax Waiver, obtained from your county assessor’s office.

6. Depending on your transaction, further documentation and/or an emissions inspection may be required.


PURCHASE FROM AN INDIVIDUAL

1. Completed Title- complete the title assignment with seller(s) signatures, purchaser's name and address, purchase date, purchase price, and odometer.

2. Proof of current insurance

3. If your vehicle is 6 years old or older, a Missouri Safety Inspection is required. If your vehicle is less than 5 years old and you have an Out of State title, an ID/OD is required.

4. A Personal Property Tax Receipt for the previous year, unless transferring plates where no time is being added, Or a Personal Property Tax Waiver, obtained from your county assessor’s office.

5. A Bill of Sale is not typically required- below are just a few instances where one will be required.     

         a. A Notarized Bill of Sale is required if the vehicle being purchased is less than fair market value according to Kelly Blue Book.

         b. A Bill of Sale must accompany a title that does not have a "purchase price" designated space

         c. A Notarized Bill of Sale will be required if there are any mistakes or strike overs on the title assignment.

         d. A Bill of Sale will be required if the title submitted is not filled out correctly or completely.

5. Depending on your transaction, further documentation and/or an emissions inspection may be required.


* If there is a lien listed on the front of the title- A Notarized Lien Release is required for all Missouri Titles, and for Out of State Titles a lien release state specific is required.

* Inspection/ ID/OD- can be obtained from any authorized inspection station in Missouri. This typically includes Midas, Firestone, certain MO Dealerships, etc.

* Proof of Insurance- must be current (not start in the future), must show year, make, vin, and effective dates. New purchases are allowed to use their previous vehicles insurance for the first 30 days of purchase. We will accept digital copies.

* If you sold a vehicle- you need a bill of sale showing year, make, vin, purchaser's name and address, sale date and sale price.

* If you had a total loss- you must provide a notarized or certified Total Loss Affidavit/ Sales Tax Certificate. It will include year, make, vin, date totaled, date paid, total loss amount, signature from insurance agent.

* If you traded in a car to a dealership- it should be included on your Certified Title Application or Buyer's Order or Bill of Sale.


TRANSFER FROM OUT OF STATE

1. Does your vehicle have a loan?

     a. If YES- Current Registration from Previous State and Lien holder name & address

     b. If NO- Title from your Current State

2. Missouri Safety Inspection-

     a. 5 Years Old and Newer- ID/OD

     b. 6 Years Old and Older- Safety Inspection

3. Proof of Insurance

4. Personal Property Tax Waiver- proves you did not live in the State of MO nor owes county taxes for the previous year. Obtained from your county assessor's office.